A Place I Used to Know

I immigrated to Canada with my parents when I was two or three years old, and until then we lived in a part of Hong Kong called Aberdeen. I’ve heard much about this place over the years – you know, every time my parents decide to take a trip down memory lane. But I have no personal recollection of this place whatsoever. I didn’t even know what it looked like until today!

20130921_115819

My physical well-being hasn’t been up to par for the past week, so I finally decided to do something about it and go see the doctor in Aberdeen. Since I was there already, I decided I might as well take a stroll around the place. I also brought my journal along, and I originally wanted to find a coffee shop to spend the afternoon in, but what I didn’t realize is that Aberdeen is literally composed of a few streets. It’s a tiny neighbourhood on the southern side of Hong Kong Island, and looks like any other typical region in Hong Kong (‘typical’ as in not in the main city area). It takes you less than 10 minutes to walk around the region. Okay, so not a good place for coffee and words. I went back to wait for my bus, which can either take me home or all the way to Causeway Bay, and I’m sure there’s a nice place somewhere in CWB.

I’m waiting at the bus stop, and next thing you know, the bus to Stanley appears. Me being the impulsive and random person that I am, I decided to just hop and and spend a nice afternoon there. Just the bus ride to Stanley is quite relaxing. You get a beautiful ocean view with no city buildings; just green and blue.

20130921_125712

20130921_123748

I’ve walked through Stanley Market dozens of times, so I didn’t spend too much time there. I skipped all the pubs and restaurants along the main road as well. Instead, I went to a newly renovated Stanley Plaza, and sat down in a cute bakery there. Okay, I don’t know if its newly renovated, but it’s renovated compared to my last visit 3 years ago. My cinnamon french toast and lemonade was delicious, but the cafe itself wasn’t a good place for my writing purposes. It was quite empty, and yet I was still annoyed from the noisy music. Not inspiring at all. I decided to leave fairly soon.

20130921_131853

I was heading towards the bus stop when all of a sudden I was entranced by a coffee shop. I literally stared at it from outside, and the owner came out and handed me a menu. With a motivation to step inside, I was captured immediately and decided to try a cup of latte. Their coffee is amazing! Again, I didn’t feel like it was a great place for writing, but it’s definitely good if you want to get a aromatic cup of coffee over a chat with friends.

20130921_151527

 

20130921_1437422

Finally, it was time to go home. The sad part is, I still haven’t found a good place for writing aside from Starbucks and Pacific Coffee… those lame places that are everywhere. I’m on the hunt for something original. Something that I can label my thoughts to.

P.S. Today was hot! A typhoon is own its way, causing the humidity peak for the day. Church has been changed from 3 PM to 11 AM for tomorrow. Praying for everyone to stay safe!

20130921_151830

Leave a Reply

