Calling All One Piece Fans!

I was walking my usual route down to the Wan Chai MTR Station when I saw this poster by 7-11:

onepieceposter

Now this is a bit shameful to admit, but before I spent the past 3 months in Japan, I had no idea what One Piece was. And then I met a bunch of Japanese friends. And then I went to USJ while their One Piece exhibit was still on. And then I dug out of my hole. Okay, I still haven’t watched any of it, but at least I know what it is. Their characters are pretty cute too.

In case you’re in the same hole that I was in, One Piece is just a really popular anime. I thought it was only in Japan, but apparently tons of people like it all over the world. I still remember back in Japan when JINS came out with a collection of One Piece glasses, ridiculously overpriced. They were just coloured plastic glasses, but they were colour-coded with their corresponding character, and they also came with a keychain. I’ve heard many of my friends say that they would buy it just for the keychain. I understand. I would do that for Pokemon as well.

20130824_160630 20130824_160727

Anyway, 7-11 here is now doing a promotion… collect stamps when you spend over $20, and redeem them for One Piece action figures. Typical Hong Kong convenience store campaign. If it were something to do with Minna no Tabo, I’d be on it already. 7-11 for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. With One Piece, I’m just casually collecting because I know quite a few friends that would be interested. I’m still deciding whether I want to exchange them for toys myself, or give them to a colleague so that he can give me his stamps in the future when a Minna no Tabo campaign comes out. 😀

2013-09-27 20.29.20

Either way, I still passed by 7-11 on my way home just to check it out, and to grab a snack. In addition to the two stamps I was able to collect, I also found my favourite flavour of ice cream – pistachio! This doesn’t taste quite the same as the pistachio in the Old Spaghetti Factory, but it’s good enough to fulfill my love for the flavour! I also grabbed a vitamin water, which I’m not actually that fond of, but it had a excerpt on it in Chinese rather than English. I know it sounds stupid, but I’m always fascinated by these things when I’m so used to it being in a different language.

2013-09-27 20.33.29 2013-09-27 21.17.07

The campaign is on until the end of November, so you have plenty of time to collect!

Leave a Reply

