Egg Waffles – A Hong Kong Delicacy

I feel like I haven’t posted a good food entry in a while. Well, this time I’m back with a legit good recommendation. Egg waffles!

20131207_112024

Anyone who knows anything at all about Hong Kong should recognize this delicious treat. It’s basically made of the same pastry as your North American waffle, except with probably more eggs, more sugar, and less butter. (I’m just guessing, I don’t really know). When they’re made in perfect execution, they’re crispy on the outside, but warm and soft on the inside. Some places offer different flavours, but personally I like the heavy original taste of eggs.

This one stall is especially famous for their 雞蛋仔, and it originated in North Point. They have a store located right outside the Wan Chai MTR Station, and I’ve always noticed that it’s called “北角雞蛋仔” (even though I’m in Wan Chai). Anyway, I had some business in Quarry Bay on Saturday, so since I was heading in that direction, I decided to finally try the original stall in North Point!

20131207_112233

This stall is pretty close to the North Point MTR Station, but not immediately obvious because it’s off from the main road. Take exit B3, and then two right turns to get to this medium-sized alley! The stall with all sorts of celebrity pictures, and then a small opening for you to order – that would be the one.

20131207_112204

To be honest, it’s the same as the one in Wan Chai, which isn’t a bad thing… but I don’t think it’s any better. That’s okay – it’s hard to be any better than they already are. But if you’re looking for a yummy treat, there’s no need to go all the way to North Point. They actually have quite a few branches all over Hong Kong and Kowloon, but you’re going to have to look that up on your own.

20131207_115806

This is the scene outside Wan Chai MTR Station. A new street food stall (on the right) opened up next to the yummy egg waffle place (on the left), and they’re doing a buy 1 get 1 free promotion, resulting in an offer match from both sides. I don’t think it will last for long, but at least for this little while, this particular North Point egg waffle branch is probably the cheapest one around. Also, just to let you know: I’ve tried the new place and trust me, it’s nowhere near the same tier of street food. Even in this world of cheap street eats, there’s good eats and bad eats.

I hate street food for being so cheap and convenient! It’s exactly how you gain weight so easily here in Hong Kong. But if you ever visit this city, you can’t leave without trying at least this place. I’ll leave the address for the original store, but a quick search should give you the locations of all the branches!

利強記北角雞蛋仔
http://www.openrice.com/restaurant/sr2.htm?shopid=10742
北角英皇道492號

Leave a Reply

