The Last of 2013

Five days into the new year, and of course, Hong Kong is a lot more quiet already. January means that the Christmas decorations are slowly all coming down; my friends who came to visit are almost all back home in Vancouver; and most importantly, the vacation days have now all been spent and we’re back to work every day, 8:30 AM – 6 PM. On one hand, it feels like I have to fill my life with busy busy work again, but on the other hand, I almost have more time with all my friends gone because I’m no longer going out for this or that every day. I guess in the end, it simply means I have less to look forward to (which makes life a bit boring), and also less to eat up all my time.

During the past ten days, a lot happened. For one thing, I went to Disneyland again, this time on Boxing Day – which, by the way, they don’t have any sales for in Hong Kong. They don’t have Black Friday sales either, so basically they don’t have any sales aside from their “end-of-season sales”, by which point the clothes are so out of season you don’t even want to buy them anymore. You’d expect a lot of people at Disneyland on the 26th, since it’s a public holiday here in Hong Kong, but like I mentioned before, Hong Kong locals aren’t really that into Disneyland, so the line-ups were okay… around 20-30 minutes max, and a lot of the lines were even shorter than that.

I already wrote an extensive post about Disneyland for Halloween, so I’m not going to repeat that. But I must say, Disneyland had some of the best Christmas decorations I’ve ever seen in Hong Kong! It finally felt a bit like Christmas, even though the day was already over. You don’t notice it until it gets dark, but if you stay for long enough, you’ll see a vintage street lined with lights and artificial snow (which is just some sort of foam) floating down. They have Disney characters coming out for a Christmas carol show at certain times, and to me, it was a truly magical sight. I tried my best to capture a nice picture, but the white balance on my phone is too limited, and even on a nicer camera it’s a difficult shot to make. Every time I try so hard to recreate the image I see in digital form, but ultimately fail, that’s always a nice reminder to be thankful for our eyes. They are the best pair of lens, and no man-made machine can ever replicate it’s fidelity.

2013-12-26 12.29.23

2013-12-26 18.07.59

2013-12-26 18.12.28

2013-12-26 20.45.55

We spent most of our day lining up for pictures rather than rides. I got a picture with Goofy! As a kid, I remember I liked him best because, well, he was quite goofy. He still makes me smile.

2013-12-26 15.08.57

I stayed until 9 PM for the daily show of fireworks at Disneyland, and this time I gave up with snapping pictures. When you put down the technology and simply focus on appreciating the view, you’ll find that you enjoy it a lot more. One of the songs in the medley is ‘A Whole New World’ from Aladdin, and I ended up rewatching that movie a few days ago. (I’ve also forgotten a lot of what happens in the movie, so as a Jasmine, I feel like I should know the jist of it).

For New Year’s Eve, I went out to Hung Hom for the countdown and fireworks. I never realized this, but Vancouver doesn’t do New Year’s fireworks. People go downtown to countdown, but there’s nothing to see… of course, this is all changing next year with the huge NYE party proposed (Dec 31, 2014!) but for now, I can still say that Hong Kong has a much better party than we do. Tons of people line up against the harbour at both TST and Central to catch the fireworks. Hung Hom is at a bit of an angle, and also a bit farther out, but I still got a nice view. After the fact, you find it kind of stupid that you would kill four hours just to stay up for a 7-minute display of fireworks, then go home… but I’d still rather that than be home alone for NYE. One thing that doesn’t make sense though, is that the MTR runs throughout the night on NYE, but the buses don’t. I almost couldn’t get home! Thankfully, I caught the last bus heading to Central just before 1 AM, and it stopped close enough to my house to walk home.

(I love how the time stamp for this picture says 19 seconds after midnight. Happy New Year everyone!)

2014-01-01 00.00.19

One last thing I want to share with you is a post I found off Rick Hansen’s Facebook Page. Turns out his resolutions are quite similar to mine!

2014-01-03 03.17.34

Leave a Reply

