Powerful Words

Nothing much to say these days. No more random visits to Disneyland or the Peak. Christmas decorations have all been taken down, and replacing them are the Chinese New Year ones. You’d think that being me, I’d go hunting around to take pictures of everything again… except this time they’re all sparkly red, and well, downright tacky. I guess I’m just not much of a Chinese patriot. The most interesting thing I’ve seen so far is the packaging of this Pringles can, because you’d never see this anywhere else, even if it’s Chinese New Year!

20140121_125639

So last week I was sitting in church and the message was about choosing your words wisely. One of the scriptures was from the wise book of Proverbs, and it really touched my heart.

Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit – you choose. – Proverbs 18:21 (MSG)

I can think of so many times when I’ve hurt other people with careless words. Whether it be intentional or accidental, words travel a lot farther than you can imagine. At the same time, a simple compliment or kind words of encouragement can easily brighten up someone’s day. Most importantly, it’s our choice. Bullies send mean words flying around to make themselves appear stronger, but you don’t make yourself any weaker by giving out compliments. The power is in the words, and no matter what, you will impact the people around you. It’s our choice whether we want to make or break their day!

I’ll try to keep you guys updated with my life, interesting or not. Truth is, there’s always something you can write about… obviously more eventful topics are easier than others. But this whole idea of making something out of nothing – isn’t that what being a writer is all about?

Leave a Reply

