Going Coconuts

The other day I was walking through 7-11 and randomly stumbled across a bottled coconut milk drink. I like the flavour of coconut, so I decided to try it, and guess what? That moment marked the start of my current coconut fetish. I went online and looked up all the great health benefits of coconut, and since then, I’ve been shopping for a nice virgin coconut oil. Turns out it isn’t very common here in Hong Kong! I tried to ask some people at the local supermarkets, and they haven’t even heard of it before. You have to go to a more upscale (and expensive) supermarket, such as CitySuper, before you can find these kinds of things.

20140126_195243

Chinese New Year is right around the corner, and part of the whole holiday thing comes the special edition 7-11 Sanrio toys! Starting yesterday, you can redeem your stamps for the CNY edition toys until they run out of stock. People were actually lining up at 8 AM for the toys. Crazy! But since one of the characters was Tabo, I went for the special edition and finally found my first Tabo collectible. The lion head is super cute!

20140124_083444

(Just for the record, here’s the rest of them sitting on my desk…)

20140125_132857

I mentioned before that Chinese New Year decorations are all going up, and most of them can’t really compare to the pretty Christmas lights. Langham Place is always my go-to place for decoration hunting, so here we are! The Christmas Sanrio collection was heaps more cute than these horses, but in comparison to other CNY displays, I think I’d still prefer this one. If only the flowers were real… but then again, I’m probably expecting too much 😛

20140124_202701 20140124_202242 20140124_202353 20140124_202645

P.S Still haven’t found a brand of coconut oil to satisfy me yet. Any recommendations out there?

One response to “Going Coconuts

Leave a Reply

