“Home is where the heart is”

This entire week, I keep thinking that I haven’t blogged in a long time. And then I check the date of my last post and it’s actually only five days ago, which is pretty average for me. I guess I’ve had so many activities that a lot of time seems to have passed, but in reality, it’s just that every day is too full!

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot more thinking than observing. In order to have new material to write about, it’s important to do both. And usually when this duo is off-balance, I usually spend a lot more time observing. I mean, that’s where all my photodump posts come from, right? But this time, I have a lot of thoughts in mind. Not so much what I ate this week or cute exhibitions put out, but thoughts that are unique to me. For example (this sounds so weird to say out loud), living in Hong Kong actually makes me feel spoiled. Throughout my childhood, there are friends that I could label as spoiled, and upon comparison, I would never label myself that way. But then when I think about my situation – coming to Hong Kong for a year of work, and heading home in two weeks for vacation – it almost seems like an immature thing to do. People have asked me why, and when I tell them because I miss home, you can see the look on their faces. They don’t understand why you would just leave all the business you have in Hong Kong to go home for two weeks. To them, it’s not even a vacation! Of course, you have to remember, there are tons of people in Hong Kong that have never even experienced a plane ride before (all the reason more to make feel spoiled) – they wouldn’t ‘waste’ this opportunity to fly somewhere that they have already been so many times before. Realistically, I know there might be a day where I will have to leave home and I won’t be able to come back every year. But I also know that Vancouver will always be a priority for me, and while I still have the luxury of being spoiled, I want to hold onto the privilege for as long as I can.

While we’re on this topic, let me share something else somewhat related. I’ve been introducing myself to a lot of new friends over these few weeks, and every time I tell my story, people ask me “so do you want to come back to Hong Kong after you’re done with school?”. That is always such a hard question to answer! I know my heart will always want to go back to Vancouver, no matter what city I’m in. Plus of course the salary, working hours, lifestyle, and culture are all more comfortable for me back at home compared to Hong Kong. At the same time, I don’t want to close out this city completely. My HK ID card opens up so many possibilities for me here in this city, and shutting it out is definitely a dumb thing to do. Most importantly, I don’t know what God has planned in my life, and I expect to find myself in the most unexpected places in the future. So the best answer I can give you, really, is “I don’t know”. Yes, I don’t even know if I want to be back here. (Oh wait, that sentence sounds a bit negative, but please take it neutrally). Regardless of what I want personally, I know that as long as I have Vancouver in my heart, and God’s calling for that city, then I will be okay with it.

Hmm… what else? The rest of my conversations have been about movies, really – mainly the Oscar-winning ones. So far I’ve watched Gravity, 12 Years a Slave, Frozen, and Dallas Buyers Club. Still many more to go! I’m also really looking forward to Saving Mr. Banks, despite it not being a nominated movie. I love Disney, so the movie concept is quite attractive to me. Speaking of Disney, you definitely have to watch Frozen! And make sure you watch it in English – I’ve had a few friends here that watched it in Chinese, and none of them thought it was good. The songs are tailor-made to be sung in English!

2014-03-07 08.41.27

P.S. I had a bagel for breakfast this morning, and a few people at work asked me “what is that?”. I never realized how uncommon bagels are around here! I miss my wheat & honey bagel with strawberry cream cheese from Timmies!

2014-03-07 08.39.49

Leave a Reply

