Exposure

There’s only a few days before I fly, and as I mentioned last time, I’ve been shopping around a lot recently to finish off a few shopping lists. When I go shopping, that’s basically means I have time to lounge around and actually have a chance to expose myself to all the weird things I take note of. For example, just seeing my name on items is picture-worthy for me. If I’ve decided to buy something but I’m struggling with what flavour to get, I’m probably 300% more likely to buy the Jasmine-flavoured one. It always seems to be calling out to me.

2014-03-13 12.32.53

2014-03-15 22.21.23

(Just for the record, I didn’t end up getting the tea, but I got the chocolate :D)

Exposure in general allows you to observe your surroundings, and with these observations, you have more things to think about and discover in your down time. The other day, I was having a hot pot dinner and the base was some sort of seafood soup. Inside the base, there were these pieces of white food, and when I asked what it was, someone told me “海底椰”. Well I’ve heard this term before, and I’ve even seen it written down, but I never actually thought about it. And I always had this impression that this food it would look something like algae – just random leaves that grow underwater. Then I bit into it, and I realized it tasted like coconut – and that’s when my epiphany hit. I always thought that people were saying “海底野” (like literally, just “stuff” that grows underwater, and therefore I thought of seaweed). I never thought that they actually meant sea coconuts. So stupid things like that – it’s how I ponder and learn.

One of the good things about Hong Kong is that there are stores and malls everywhere. When you have an hour or two to spare between events, there is always somewhere for you to explore. On Saturday, I was walking through Olympic City (which I pass by every week on my way to church), and I found this really nice store hidden in a corner of the mall. I love these kinds of shops – they sell the most random things (at a pretty expensive price) that nobody really needs and I would probably never buy, but they’re provide a nice walk.

2014-03-15 17.01.38

2014-03-15 16.59.35

I believe I talked about Concept Starbucks before, but yesterday I found myself at the one in Sai Yee Street again, and I realized that they sell Hong Kong-specific treats. There’s pineapple bun and egg tarts, but with a western coffee twist to it. These snacks definitely are not common to Hong Kong Starbucks either – I’m sure there are only a select few stores that sell these things. I really wanted to try the coffee egg tart, but I just had lunch before walking by and I wasn’t in the mood for it. Next time!

2014-03-16 13.09.43

2014-03-16 13.09.57

I’ll end off with another of  my silly moments to share with you: someone asked me for directions last week, and after I told them, they said “thank you”. I said “thank you” back. Canadian problems….

Leave a Reply

