The Many Sides to this Beautiful City

Time always flies when you are having fun. It’s hard to imagine that I’ll be leaving this city again in a few short days. When I was younger, I would be so excited to leave home for vacation. It’s quite ironic that at present day, I’m actually back home for vacation.

I’ve been pretty much everywhere over the past five days. To sum things up: I went to a Canucks game (which we won 4-2!), spent 2 nights in Whistler, had a bunch of meals with various groups of friends that I haven’t seen in about forever, and yesterday I even walked around the UBC campus. Canucks probably have no chance of making it into the playoffs, but for the most part, this city will never stop cheering them on. Hockey is embedded in our culture – it’s just what Vancouverites do.

2014-03-23 17.15.18

2014-03-23 19.42.58

I always love Whistler. The weather report said it was supposed to rain on the day we planned to go up the mountain for some skiing/boarding, but instead, God blessed us with beautifully clear weather! We didn’t make it up in time to get to the 7th Heaven peak of Blackcomb, but we had a great time nonetheless. I’m just glad I didn’t forget how to snowboard after leaving it for over a year!

2014-03-24 15.11.03

2014-03-24 15.10.46

We also walked around Whistler Village and ate at the Old Spaghetti Factory, like how we do every time we’re there. It’s part of our family tradition! By the way, there’s just something about Whistler Village that I can’t escape from. It gives me a very heartwarming feeling, but I can’t really put it into words. I don’t know if it’s the weather, or the buildings, or the stores, or just everything together… and it’s not especially beautiful or majestic or anything, especially if you compare it to, say, hotels and other resort cities. But there’s a vibe that the place gives me, and I can find so much content by just strolling around and window shopping. I love it.

IMG_6008

It’s amazing that I’ve never actually walked around this campus before, despite living here for almost 20 years. Well obviously I’ve been to the famous places like the Chan Centre and Rose Garden, but even the main roads of UBC where all the libraries and the Sauder building is located – I’ve never seen them before. Of course you can’t compare UBC with other universities that have been around for centuries, but overall, this university is still quite nice.

2014-03-27 11.36.50

I was actually at UBC yesterday for a set of early graduation pictures with a few friends, so I brought a bouquet of flowers for the graduates. While we were walking around, a campus security guard came up to us and I thought we were in some sort of trouble. And then he goes up to the girl holding the roses, and says “somebody must like you a lot!”. It’s these small things I miss about Vancouver.

IMG_6247

(Welcome to UBC. Apparently the construction sites are probably more iconic of UBC than the buildings here, so here’s my ‘I was here’ tourist picture.)

I should also mention that while we were taking pictures at the Rose Garden, roses were not in season, and Raincouver weather was in full effect. I had fun nonetheless! Rather than praying for good weather, I’ve learned to pray for a change in heart – so I can accept whatever God sends my way in a positive light. Despite it all, the pictures still turned out pretty nice!

IMG_6198

Usually you can see a stunning view of Vancouver from this spot, but the fog covered it up… I thought it would be pretty funny to take a picture here, so I did.

After spending the morning at UBC, we went to visit the Museum of Anthropology, which is pretty much just across the street from the Rose Garden. I never realized I had so much appreciation for our Aboriginal culture! There were lots of items that represented not just the First Nations people from BC, but also all over the world.

IMG_6325

(Did you notice the Aboriginal pattern on our Canadian jersey?)

Before I leave you for now, I just wanted to show you this postcard I found at the MOA. It’s so iconic of Vancouver! You probably wouldn’t fully understand unless you live here, but just so you know, my favourite part is the rain cloud 😉

2014-03-27 16.09.47

One response to “The Many Sides to this Beautiful City

Leave a Reply

