A Jet-Lagged Adventure

Andddd I’m back. Vacations always seem to past by in a blink of an eye, and next thing you know, I’m faced with having to go to work tomorrow morning. I’m glad I gave myself an extra day to rest on Friday – took that day off, and the next day after that was Ching Ming, which is a public holiday here in Hong Kong. Despite having all this time, I haven’t been really getting a good sleep at all though. It’s already been a few consecutive days of waking up at around 5 AM, and not being able to fall back asleep. This sleep deficit is only getting worse, but I still haven’t found a good solution to fix it. Trust me, I’m tired, and I want to go to sleep… but there’s always insomnia holding me back.

My flight back to Hong Kong from Vancouver was a direct flight, and it just occurred to me that I haven’t taken a direct flight between these two cities in quite a while – the last time was in 2010. While I was sitting on the plane, I suddenly remembered what a huge difference that one stop makes. The total time on the plane is about the same, and you lose a few hours for the layover, but for the most part, the stop makes the whole journey a lot less difficult. At the very least, you won’t feel like you’re trapped on the plane forever!

Since I can’t fall asleep and I have all the time in the world, I’ve been actually out and about over the past two days. Lots of exercise (I went for 2 runs and a game over soccer over the past 3 days!), writing, errands, and just a bit of walking around. The other day, I walked up and down the small streets of Wan Chai that run between Johnston Road and Queen’s Road East, just to see what was there. I saw so many small restaurants that I never knew even existed! I don’t think I’ll be able to try ALL of them, but some have been added to my bucket list.

2014-04-04 10.30.12

Yesterday was definitely interesting. I found myself randomly in Cheung Chau with no planning whatsoever; just for a walk around the area to see what it’s about. Of course I’ve heard of the island, and I’ve even seen it from various sources, but walking the walk for yourself makes such a big difference. “I do and I remember” – nothing is learned until you actually do it! For one thing, I learned that there are around 30000 people that live on that island. They’re pretty much self-sustainable, and they don’t really need to go to Hong Kong for anything. It’s nice because there are no cars on the island, only bicycles! Immediately you can feel the air being a bit fresher than urban Hong Kong. It’s also a lot bigger than you’d expect! I walked for around 2-3 hours, along a trail called the ‘Mini Great Wall of China’, and that was probably only about a third of the island covered. There’s definitely enough to see there over a few separate trips. Above all, I really enjoyed the proximity to nature rather than buildings. I still like the city, but no matter how nice you make these crazy skyscrapers and towers, it’s still doesn’t compare to God’s creation. Seeing all this just gives you perspective – how things were meant to be, versus the destruction and impact of our human technology. Of course technology is great (I mean, I am an engineer). It’s just not the same kind of ‘wow. And so yeah, walking around under the sun with wildlife just makes me joyful and appreciative. I think that’s what made it a good day for me.

2014-04-05 17.01.12

2014-04-05 17.30.14

I’m not excited to go back to work tomorrow. I don’t even know if I’ll last the next five days. But what can you do? At least there’s lots to look forward to in April, especially with the Easter holiday just around the corner!

2 responses to “A Jet-Lagged Adventure

  1. Pingback: Lamma Island | Adventures of a Wandering Flower·

  2. Pingback: Cheung Chau Revisited | Adventures of a Wandering Flower·

Leave a Reply

