Still a Tourist

The first day back at work after a long weekend is always the worst. Fatigue is draining your body, and you swear the weekend just started yesterday. Seriously, why am I already sitting back at my desk at work…

That being said, it means my three days off was quite adventurous. I did a lot of walking, window shopping, exploring, and of course, eating. On Sunday night, I visited a place that I’ve known of for a very long time now, but I never got to chance to check it out. Temple Street! It’s really just a street full of cheap gadgets, accessories, and souvenirs for sale, combined with a bit of food, and then a temple in the middle of the long street. To be honest, it reminds me of Ladies Market in Mong Kok. It’s mainly a tourist area, but hey, I’m pretty much a tourist too, right?

20140601_201954

The temple that Temple Street is named after is seemingly situation in the middle of nowhere, but actually all temples were built facing the ocean. In other words, the area in front of this temple was also once a body of water…. but because Hong Kong in its most natural form has no room for human habitation, the water has now been filled in for human’s selfish use better use.

20140601_202703

At the north end of the street, you will come across an area that surrounded by restaurant stalls that are famous for 煲仔飯 (claypot rice). I wasn’t hungry enough to try it, but I do love the dish. It’s on my Hong Kong bucket list, that’s for sure.

20140601_201940

(By the way, Temple Street is only lively in the evening, which explains why there is never much light to take good pictures… this is about as good as it gets.)

20140601_203151

So anyway, that’s my short and sweet introduction to Temple Street for you. I didn’t end up eating or buying anything; I simply wanted to take a walk through and experience it for myself. Create an adventure. You know me.

Leave a Reply

