Diary of a Foodie Girl

It’s not that I don’t have anything to talk about… but these days my photo album is filled with pictures of food. It’s kind of sad, really. Then again, who doesn’t like looking through mouth-watering pictures of food?!

I’ve been continuously craving of salad these days. I’d say it’s partially because of the heat, and partially because it’s actually avocado that I’m truly craving, but avocado goes really well with salad. It’s these kinds of signs that tell me I miss home. I remember when I went to Toronto, I suddenly became a huge Canucks fan once again, because it gave me a sense of identity. This is more or less the same thing – cold salads are only found in Western culture, because Chinese medicine says eating cold foods are bad for your body.  On the other hand, the Canadian food pyramid encourages you to eat more fruits and veggies, and less sugars and meats. I’m siding with Western culture for this one, and it has nothing to do with which one is more correct… rather, it’s everything to do with where I belong.

20140614_130417

20140617_194514

When you eat super foods for your three main meals, you know what that means! A lot of snacks and ‘extra meals’ because you tell yourself “you deserve it”. Sadly, this is why my diet never works. But anyway, I went back to Lab Made AGAIN (it’s like my 10th time here during this trip to Hong Kong), and tried another two flavours: Crispy Mint Chocolate Chip, and Sea Salt and Caramel. Did I mention I love the combination of sea salt + caramel? That sweet and salty taste goes too well together. Like peanut butter and chocolate. Yummmm.

20140617_211856

20140617_211243

McDonald’s always comes out with new burgers here… like literally every 6 weeks or so. The McDonald’s in Canada do have special items every now and then, but they don’t change nearly as frequently as the stores here. It’s a good marketing technique though, seeing that they always attract me to try whatever’s new. The truth is, they usually aren’t amazing or different at all. At most they use  a different sauce in their burger, and put a few more sprinkles in their ice cream, and offer breaded chicken wings rather than BBQ ones. Anyway, I still went to try this ‘Samba Burger’, which I thought was pretty cool because the bun looks like a soccer ball. Very fitting for this World Cup season!

20140621_195522

I grab a coffee from Starbucks every now and then, when I feel like I’ve had a rough week and I can afford the calories. But it’s not often that I eat a full dinner from there! Starbucks gives you a free drink or slice of cake for your birthday, and I also happened to have 2 more free drink coupons, so I had my first ‘meal’ from Starbucks. Its not often I find myself thanking Starbucks, but thanks for an interesting dinner.

20140620_193929

Every now and then I’m actually in the mood to cook something (not bake, actually cook!), and so the other day I made an omelette. Salmon + cheese 😀 Granted, eggs are literally the easiest thing to make on this planet, but hey, any attempt at cooking is still an achievement for me. I’m proud of myself too! 🙂

20140622_114749

Then saving the most interesting for last, I had my first taste of Russian/Ukranian cuisine last night. Their food isn’t crazy or anything, but you can definitely taste a twist in the flavours. Two of the more unique items on the menu were rabbit and deer, neither of which we tried, because I refuse to eat anything that has a cute or elegant appearance. I remember in Harry Potter, there was a scene where they were talking about eating unicorns, and although I know unicorns are fictitious creatures, that monologue has scarred me:

Only one who has nothing to lose, and everything to gain, would commit such a crime. The blood of a unicorn will keep you alive, even if you are an inch from death, but at a terrible price. You have slain something so pure and defenceless to save yourself, you will have but a half-life, a cursed life, from the moment the blood touches your lips.

I don’t have as strong feeling for rabbit meat, but deer are such graceful animals! It’s like eating Bambi. I guess I wouldn’t hate myself if I accidentally tried it, or even if I was just curious to see what it tastes like. But with a conscious choice in front of me, I would choose not to eat it. Anyway, we had a very pleasant meal of lamb and duck. It was nice!

20140624_200200

20140624_201910

One response to “Diary of a Foodie Girl

  1. BAHHH SO MUCH YUMMY FOOD PICS! ESP THE SALAD…IM ALWAYS CRAVING SALADS NOW/…its prob because its too hot. but oomg i miss hk food

Leave a Reply

