Catching Up

It’s been a while. Things have changed a bit. For one thing, I’m in a different city… again. I mean, that’s why this blog is about a wandering flower, right?

Over the past ten days or so, I’ve visited too many places and I have too many stories to detail them all. I can only say that this month, August, truly is the best month to be in Vancouver. From the annual fireworks (the Celebration of Lights) to the lovely sunny weather everyday to the super late sunsets at 9:30 PM, it’s everything I’ve grown up with and everything I love about  my city. There is no way I can keep myself from going out every day, even if it’s just for a walk to enjoy the beautiful sunshine and get a breath of fresh air. After living in a concrete jungle for a year, I can safely say that I have never appreciated this greenery any more than I do now.

Let’s see… so after a week in Vancouver, here’s a summary of everything I’ve done:

Colour Me Rad – a 5k run that’s completely for fun, and you try and get as much colour on you as possible.

20140802_121421(0)

Celebration of Lights – I caught Japan’s display of fireworks, the last show for this year. It’s been quite a few years since I last saw this show!

IMG_7701

Lynn Peak – I hiked up this mountain about 8 years ago, and it took us 4 hours. This time, it was only 2.5 hours up. Good to know that I’ve improved after all this time! We caught a beautiful day with no clouds for an infinite view over Greater Vancouver.

20140804_173511

IMG_7798

IMG_7763

Victoria – I went on a weekday, so there were no farmers markets or special events going on, but in the midst of this sunny Vancouver season, any day is a good day for a walk around this province’s capital city.

IMG_7922

Granville Island – I love this place, but I actually didn’t go for the public market. I just happened to be around for dinner that day. I sure hope I get another chance to take a longer walk around False Creek! (By the way, if you’re looking for a good seafood restaurant around this area, I highly recommend Sandbar!)

IMG_7953

20140805_204412

Steveston Village – I had lunch at the Hog Shack, then went around for a very relaxing walk along the water. People name Steveston Village as a ‘tourist attraction’ if you come to Vancouver, and it’s true that there really isn’t much to do there. But somehow I always end up being able to spend hours there, just wandering and enjoying God’s creation.

20140806_131548

IMG_7964

I know life is going to continue carrying me forward faster than I would like… but for now, let’s just leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

