“I always deserve a treat”

So I recently started working at a fast food restaurant, which explains why I have even less time to blog than before. It’s my first job in my entire life of this type, and of course it’s tough labour work, but I like it. The hours go by fast, and I’m learning a lot about preparing food… which is something I haven’t really done a lot of, despite spending so much time on my own. It’s like God is telling me to stop being so lazy, and actually fix myself a sandwich instead of just eating bread.

Toronto has been surprisingly cold. I remember September used to be pretty hot and humid when I got back to school, but this year the winter seems to be coming pretty quickly. I’m starting to get used to checking the weather every morning, rather than just walking outside “based on instinct” (ie. what I do in Vancouver). It always looks like a beautiful day, but it gets super chilly out!

IMAG0765

Hmm… what else? There’s actually been more to talk about than I would expect. For example, the other day I saw a Gong Cha around Scarborough – more evidence of this place turning into Hong Kong II. There’s also Ten Ren and Chatime here in Toronto already, and I like Chatime, but I’m not so keen on trying the other franchises. Just the Ten Ren menu is a lot more attractive in Hong Kong. If you ever get a chance to go, definitely try their taro-based drinks. You can always ask for less sugar if you’re not into the sweets, but what I like about it is that they have real taro cubes blended into their drink, so it’s not just a powdered flavouring + water.

IMAG0745

I walked past the markets of Chinatown the other day and saw a huge bag of very ripe bananas for $2, so I impulsively bought them and got all my baking ingredients ready to make banana bread! Even though I was completely exhausted and still up at 10 PM baking instead of getting ready for bed, baking makes me happy. It’s a nice way of taking my mind off the busy life I already have, trying to juggle work and school. Anyway, I used 4 bananas out of that huge bag… that’s a lot of baking for me for the next little while.

IMAG0829

IMAG0833

Spooky-packaged candies and chocolates are already on sale, with still over a month until Halloween. But wait – mooncakes were out even earlier. I shouldn’t be surprised by now.

IMAG0846

Speaking of Coffee Crisp, I had a Coffee Crisp Mcflurry at McDonald’s the other day. They don’t usually have this flavour, but I saw it on their poster board because it was the 75th anniversary of Coffee Crisp 😀 My favourite ‘blended ice cream’ flavour is still Kit Kat, but I don’t seem to see it around a lot anymore… whether its McDonalds, Dairy Queen, or Baskin Robbins.

IMAG0674

You know how Coca-Cola is coming out with those ‘personalized’ bottles and everybody is trying to find names for themselves or their friends? It’s funny how this marketing technique completely backfires on me (although I don’t drink pop in the first place, so it doesn’t really matter I guess). It just seems ‘not right’ to take a drink that doesn’t have my name on it… it’s like taking someone else’s drink. So anyway, I’ve still been trying to find my own name, but even if I find it, I’d probably just buy it as a keepsake or something.

IMAG0844

Christmas is still so far away…. yet I know it’ll be here in the blink of an eye. Either way, I’m looking forward to it!

P.S. I just noticed how I wrote yet another post about food, and mostly treats for myself. Well, no wonder I tell myself “I always deserve a treat”!

One response to ““I always deserve a treat”

Leave a Reply

