Rundown

Three weeks into the school year, and I feel exhausted already. Reading week is actually coming up quite soon, in another three weeks, but all I can see are a ton of deadlines placed well before that ‘break’. Who does any reading during reading break anyway? Who knows though, this last semester has been pretty tough, and it doesn’t look like it will ever get easier.

To be honest, I feel generally happier this term compared to last term. Of course, it’s also still quite early, so it’s hard to say, but last term was just a lot of change all packed into a very short amount of time. Sure, I’ve been in Toronto for three years prior to coming back, but it’s still a big change. Remembering all my math again was definitely a challenge too. Plus other things – work, projects, responsibilities – it was too much to adapt to in a small amount of time. Not much has really changed in terms of situation compared to September, aside from time… time has allowed me to get back into the rhythm of things.

So what’s up this term? Well, quite a lot actually. I quit my job, and instead I’m using that time to get back into shape. Intramural basketball and soccer are both on my weekly to-do list. I’m designing an RC plane with two other group members for a mandatory course – hopefully it flies! (We’ll know by early April, since that’s our flyoff date). My thesis is still underway, and all the reports/presentations are due in the next few months. For my elective, I’m taking a very interesting marketing geography course. Geography is one of those subject that really doesn’t take much technical knowledge to apply concepts to. You can just go to any random city in the world, make lots of observations, and that’s geography. I guess it’s all about how well you can make these observations.

It was ridiculously cold the first week I got back to Toronto, but it’s gotten a lot better since then. It’s only January – there’s still time for a rebound. But I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the temperature will stay above -15 for the remainder of this season. That’s not too much to ask… is it?

I’m going to try really hard to post a bit more on this blog this term. In the end, it’s all about whether you make the time for it. You never have enough time for everything. If you put your mind to it, then it’ll happen.

Random fact of the day: So I bought this combination lock when I came to Toronto, and I’ve been using it for the 2 years before heading to HK. After one year in HK, I completely forgot the combination! (Well, I remembered one number, but that’s not all that useful for this 3-number lock). After trying to pick my own lock (by learning off YouTube videos) for three hours – you know, turning it slowing, hearing where it clicks, etc. – I finally came across one video that worked: basically you break the lock. Pry off the metal plate on the back, turn the dials to make the grooves line up, then trace back the combination. The best part is, you can just slip the plate back on and hammer it in. It’s like you never broke it in the first place.

IMAG2163

Anyway, I found it amusing to know that the number that I remembered is correct. (You never know, when you previously used 5 different combination locks throughout each of your years in high school!)

One response to “Rundown

Leave a Reply

