Summer Time

Life in Vancouver always seems to be on double-time. I don’t know if it’s the beautiful sunshine every day, or if it’s going to all my favourite spots around town, or just having time to chill and do nothing… but whatever it is, I love it.

For the most part, I haven’t been as busy as my previous visits to Vancouver. It took until now to realize that it’s not just me growing up. All my friends have also started working, and these summer vacations are no longer ‘vacations’ when you don’t have a large group of friends to go out with every day. I miss those high school summer days, when we would chill at someone’s house, or go to the park to play basketball, or just grab dinner and go for a movie – all spontaneously. Even throughout university, we had our fair share of Starbucks runs and outdoor activities every time I’m back in town. But as we get older, the group of people with that much free time also gets smaller and smaller, and we are now all limited to evening activities that need to be planned well in advance.

Since I have so much time on my hands, I’ve been trying to devote an hour to running every day, or at least 5 times a week. I just hit 10k last week… now trying to keep it up. The thing about running is that it’s always hard when you start out, but if you can push through it and make your legs keep going, the next time won’t be nearly as hard. Eventually, you get to that point of runner’s high, and it feels so nice that you don’t want to stop running!

Aside from that, I’m just heading to the usual summer spots around town. Steveston Village, Granville Island. Quarry Rock is a hike that I’ve heard about, but I’ve never done before… until now. It’s a pretty easy hike, but still gives a great view over Deep Cove.

IMAG4218

IMG_3380

IMG_3470

There was this one day last week when I found myself near Kitsilano with nothing to do, so I just sat at Kits Beach for 3 hours and wrote. Watching the sun slowly set over the horizon reminded me of why I love this city so much.

IMG_3549 IMG_3566

I’ve been trying to follow the Women’s World Cup, although to be completely honest, I haven’t managed to watch an entire match yet. The Canadian team is playing this Saturday at BC Place, but unfortunately I’ll be in Hong Kong already. It’s amazing how many people do not actually know about the Women’s World Cup when it’s happening right here in our city. Of course, it’s nowhere near as hyped as the Men’s World Cup, but nevertheless, it’s a local event that our country is proud to host.

We took a family weekend getaway to Whistler, and I hiked up to Garibaldi Lake with a few friends. Located 1500m above sea level, you wouldn’t even know that a lake existed if you didn’t go see it for yourself. And it is by no means small, either. We only saw a tiny corner of the lake – there’s still a huge portion hidden behind the mountains that we didn’t even get to see. The water is freezing, but so refreshing at the same time. The hike is definitely not easy (9k one way!), but it is certainly rewarding.

P1210626

I’m a bit disappointed that I won’t get to spend Canada Day in this city. It’s been a while since my last Canada Day celebration. When I was in high school, the festivities never seemed to be all that attractive. But once you’re gone for a while, you wish nothing but to live out those happy days once more.

In just two more days, I’ll be on my way to Hong Kong with no return date in mind. Someone asked me why not just book a return ticket, especially if you can buy an open ticket for a year. But I thought to myself, I don’t want to live like that anymore. I went to Toronto via a one-way flight, but expecting that I will be back in Vancouver soon enough. I don’t want to carry the same mentality to Hong Kong. If I tell myself “I won’t be staying here for long”, then I will never let myself get involved with the community. I will be back in Vancouver eventually, but in the meantime, let’s not linger. Embrace this new beginning with excitement and joy. I’m sure it will be good.

One response to “Summer Time

  1. Pingback: Twenty-fifteen | Adventures of a Wandering Flower·

Leave a Reply

