Goodbye Summer

Hong Kong has been ridiculously hot these days. I don’t even recall last summer being this bad when I was here. But right now, I could really use a winter.

Unfortunately, before the winter seasons come along, we still have a lot to live through. For one thing, school is starting next week. It’s really weird how this statement no longer means anything to me. No more buying new stationary, or ‘making the best of the last weeks of summer’. When we used to say that, we said ‘summer’, but we really meant ‘vacation’. The start of this permanent job took away that definition of ‘summer’ for me.

One thing I am looking forward to is Mid-Autumn Festival. I always used to celebrate it when I was in growing up in Canada, but I remember feeling a lot more spirit with it in Hong Kong two years ago. I never knew that Chinese people really put so much emphasis in this holiday, until that experience. Plus, the temperatures are supposed to drop after Mid-Autumn, or so they say. So I just have to last another month in the heat!

So like I mentioned last time, I made it back to Hong Kong for the Imagine Dragons concert I was so looking forward to. I didn’t actually know that so many people in Hong Kong would be interested in this band… it’s definitely not a band that everybody knows, and since they only have two actual albums, they don’t have many songs to sing either. But the atmosphere in the arena last night was amazing. Everybody was singing to every single song. The talent of each and every musician up on the stage was incredible, and it was so obvious to the crowd. The first time I saw them perform live, I had no expectations, and I was completely surprised when they pulled off such an outstanding performance. This time, I expected it, and they did not disappoint.

IMAG0487

I was counting back the days and suddenly realized that I’ve been flying almost every month of 2015 so far except March. From Vancouver to Toronto, to NY, to HK, Europe, China… it’s been a busy year. And these days, I’m hooked onto the National Geographic documentary show ‘Air Crash Investigation’, which makes it even scarier.

If there is anything that I’ve learned from that show, it is that so many incidents could have been avoided if someone had just taken one extra step. While I was watching, I also asked myself if I could see myself being one of those investigators in the future. But I feel that it’s so much more meaningful to be an engineer and take a proactive stance to avoid the crash overall, instead of reacting to a crash after it has happened. I’m not saying that their job isn’t meaningful. Air policy has changed a lot over the past 40 years, and as much as I hate to say it, it is because of these accidents and lost lives that helped shape the industry for the better. Besides, it must give you a huge sense of satisfaction when you find out ‘what went wrong’. On the other hand, doing something right as an engineer won’t make you feel special at all, because it is all ‘according to manual’ and ‘as expected’. But I’d much rather live this dull life in acknowledgement that these passengers are safe, rather than face death in my everyday job.

(As an aside, I highly recommend this show. It’s very well done, and as a documentary I’d say it’s very successful at helping you learn. Also easily searchable on YouTube.)

August is almost over. In a few days, all the students will be back at school, and there will be a lot more people on the MTR during my commute. And all the parents start the cycle all over again…

Leave a Reply

