Autumn?

Many people in Hong Kong think of July and August as a period of torture. The weather is unbearably hot and humid outside. There’s too many people crowded on the streets, whether it is local students on summer vacation, families of foreign tourists here for a visit, or the usual crowd from Mainland China. And on top of that, there are no public holidays after July 1st until you get to Mid-Autumn, which is usually sometime in mid-September. (This year’s holiday on Sept 3 was an exception). So I think we all deserve a word of congratulations: this period is finally over, and we’re now in the home stretch towards – yes, Christmas!

Maybe I’m getting a bit ahead of myself. There’s still a while until my favourite holiday, and there are plenty of things I want to do before we get to our coldest extremes of this city (although unfortunately, that’s still really not that cold).

My days in Hong Kong have been interesting. I went to my first leather-making workshop, where I made an Octopus card holder. It’s easier than I expected, yet more complicated that it looks.

First, you cut out the template from the leather:

IMAG0649

Put on the plastic cover, and punch holes around the sides (both front and back):

IMAG0652

Using some special string and a very thick needle, sew the two parts together:

IMAG0659

And there you have it, your very own leather card holder!

IMAG0661

My job of trying new restaurants is also never-ending. I stumbled upon this nice grub food restaurant around the Fortress Hill/Tin Hau area, called Texas Burger. Their Texas BBQ Burger is pretty standard burger that tastes just like pulled pork because of their BBQ sauce. What I really liked was their soft shell crab salad.

IMAG0668

IMAG0664

IMAG0667

As a random part of my ‘explore Hong Kong’, I found myself in Sham Shui Po two weeks ago. There’s really nothing much to ‘do’ there, but it’s just interesting to see different sides of Hong Kong. That neighbourhood is arguably more ‘authentic Hong Kong’, compared to the glamorous places such as Tsim Sha Tsui or Causeway Bay. Those hubs are tourist magnets; it’s where everybody hangs out to shop or eat or go to the movies. But Sham Shui Po is mainly a place you go to find cheap electronics, and maybe some local foodie spots.

IMAG0605

On top of that, I also visited this mall that I’ve never been in before, called 西九龍中心. Amazingly, it was opened in the same year as Times Square, but again, Times Square is a lot more popular with tourists. Even for me – I’ve spent a good amount of time in Hong Kong, and I’ve never even heard of this place before visiting it two weeks ago. You can tell that this mall had its glorious days as well. There is a roller coaster and a skating rink at the top floor. The roller coaster is now closed, but there are still quite a few people skating there these days.

IMAG0630

IMAG0632

Speaking of change, Hong Kong really is an ever-changing city. Seriously, the Star Ferry Pier just continuously moves farther and farther away from the center of Wan Chai. Kowloon can almost touch Hong Kong Island. Pretty soon, there is going to be no harbour.

IMAG0690

IMAG0682

I saw this at Heritage 1881 in Tsim Sha Tsui the other day, and I thought, what a nice depiction of autumn. But the thing is… what kind of Hong Kong local would know what autumn really looks like? The seasons all look the same here anyway…

IMAG0676

Leave a Reply

