“To Go Aimlessly”

Today was just like any other day. I was on my way home from work, taking the same usual route I always do. When I got back to Wan Chai station, I suddenly remembered that I had run out of conditioner and went out of the way to buy a new bottle. And next thing you know, I find something that caught my eye – the flashy new booths at Wan Chai Market.

They’re a huge upgrade on the old ones. The paint gives it a nice glossy finish, and the lights are a lot brighter than they used to be. Some of them even have their own store names and labels.

As for the old ones, I’d imagine they’ll all be gone in a month or so. Even these neighbourhoods – what we know as more ‘traditional’ and ‘old-fashioned’ is slowly evolving into a new generation. Even though I think the new booths look very appealing, they simply don’t contain as many stories as the old ones do.

This place is on my way home, but I never actually walk through it because it’s always so crowded. It’s only at times like these, that I get to take a good look once again, and realize I’ve been missing out on something so close all this time.

More importantly, I realize that I did something I haven’t done in a long time today. I wandered.

I wasn’t in a hurry to get home. I let myself walk at whatever pace I wanted. I stopped to look at things if something caught my eye. I didn’t let the pressure of the crowd coerce me into walking at their pace. I simply roamed, perhaps aimlessly, just for the sake of seeing things

Wandering. It’s something I like to do, but life seems to have gotten the better of me. I pack my schedule with gatherings, sports, exercise, studying… whatever it is, to make the most efficient use of time. And sadly, I’ve lost that time to just do nothing and feel bored. This efficiency has taken away my open mind that is always searching for interesting things to complete that boredom. In the end, it is one of the reasons I’ve been writing less as well.

Stopping shamelessly to take pictures when everyone else around me was probably thinking, what are you taking pictures of anyway… that was my reminder.

The world is so interesting, if you would just stop to take a look.

wander
[won-der]
1. to ramble without a definite purpose or objective; roam, rove, or stray:
2. to go aimlessly, indirectly, or casually; meander:

Leave a Reply

